I've made my decision, I'm quitting.

Talk about anything that's clean.

I've made my decision, I'm quitting.

Postby Tracy » Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:26 pm

Don't try to talk me out of it, I intend on sticking to it.

I'm quitting smoking.
I don't mean I'm cutting back, or that I'm trying to quit smoking. I'm going to quit. Entirely.

I started taking Chantix today, which (chemically) blocks about 80% of the nicotine receptors in the brain, as well as about 80% of the dopamine receptors. It takes between a week and two weeks to fully integrate in the system, as it is a systemic quit aid.

I've been smoking since I was 11, for 20 years now. It has affected my health, and made a negative impact on my kids with regard to their perception of what is normal and acceptable. I have many reasons for quitting.

My quit date is 21 February. Since I spend most of my time in Felucca, and I want to avoid high stress (read: random PKs on my crafter) situations, I won't be playing UO that weekend at all. After I come back, I'll probably be Mr. Grumpy Pants, and maybe even give Tiger a run for his money on grumpiness. But, it'll pass, and it'll be for the best in the long run.

So if after that weekend anyone hears or sees me say something like, "afk smoke break", you can call me on it, as well you should.

I'm absolutely apprehensive about quitting, and it will probably be one of the harder things I've ever done. The prospect of the amount of things in my life that I will have to change to facilitate quitting is daunting, at best, since smoking has been such a big part of my life for so long.

I'd say "wish me luck", but it's not luck I'll need. Wish me willpower.

*puts on noise-cancelling headphones to avoid the goober alert for the misleading title, ducks any possible incoming buckets of water*
Tracy
PAS Royal Guard
PAS Royal Guard

Medals: 5
Mastica's Light of Love (1) Artemis Entreri Medal of Honor (1) DeGuy Medal of Honesty (1) Zerena Medal of Sacrifice (1) PAS Royal Guard (1)