Masters Degree (Any Advice?)

Talk about anything that's clean.

Masters Degree (Any Advice?)

Postby Endrik Elder » Sun Sep 06, 2009 9:50 am

I graduated with my Bachelors Degree in Business Management a few months ago, and I'm having trouble finding a job. As much as I love UO, I feel pretty lame sitting at home while my wife works all day. With the economy the way it is I don't know how long it will take to find a job, so I have been considering going back to school for a Masters Degree (MBA).
While researching schools online I have found that in most cases an MBA will cost anywhere from $30,000 to $150,000 depending on where you want to go. However, I found an online university that offers an MBA for under $9,000. Its self paced so I can go through the program as quickly or slowly as I like. It is nationally accredited through The Distance Education Training Council (DETC), which is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).
Basically it all looks like a very good system, and you really can't beat the price. The only catch I have found so far is that I do not actually get my degree until my tuition is completely payed off. This seems like a fair enough arrangement though considering the price.

Here is a link to the school... http://www.calcoast.edu/recogn.php I am looking at getting an MBA in Human Resources.

My question to you guys is... Do you think this is a good deal, and something worth pursuing? Does anybody have any advice an masters degrees in general, or on "Online Schooling"? Is there anything more I should look into or be aware of?

Thanks for any help or advice you guys have.
Endrik Elder
Merchant
Merchant

Postby Maldar » Sun Sep 06, 2009 1:04 pm

Here are a couple Web pages to check out regarding both, California Coast University and the good/bad points of DETC credits:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California ... University

http://distancelearn.about.com/od/accre ... a/DETC.htm

Best of luck! :)
Maldar
PAS Elder